Welcome to Suita City

Suita City faces the north of Osaka City and consists of the Senri Hills at 20 to 117 m elevations in the north and the alluvial plain surrounded by the Ai River, Kanzaki River, and the Yodo River in the south. The current population is 350,000 residents, making Suita City the seventh largest city in Osaka Prefecture. The city has been growing steadily from the continuous efforts to nurture its original culture and cultural environment for a prosperous future. Such efforts include construction of Senri New Town and hosting of the World Expo '70.


Facts about Suita City

Area:  36.11 km2
Population:  355,338
   Male: 172,763  Female: 182,575 (as of January 30, 2009)
Number of households:  154,332 (as of January 30, 2009)

 (Longitude and latitude of the City Hall) East longitude: 135°31′10″

North latitude: 34°45′23"



 City emblem

City emblem

The city emblem of Suita City combines the two Chinese characters “Sui(吹)” and “Ta(田)”. The design of the character “Sui(吹)” is expressed as a symbol of peace represented by the pigeon. The four crossing lines inside the circle signify the character “Ta(田)”. The petals surrounding the circle imply the hope for the city to develop with beauty. This mark was first established in 1940 and then revised sometime between 1951 and 1953 (exact date is uncertain).


City tree:Camphor (Kusunoki)

The camphor tree is strong, long-lived and often grows into a huge, beautiful shape. Therefore, the trees are suitable for planting around schools, parks, and streets. Suita City has a large number of old camphor trees, which are close to the hearts of the residents. The camphor was selected as the city tree in 1978.


City flower: Azalea (Satsuki)

Since the azalea can be easily grown and enjoyed as a potted plant and is also suitable for parks, it was selected as the city flower in 1970 in a public competition to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the city.


Friendship cities (Sister Cities)

International Sister Cities


Moratuwa, Sri Lanka

The agreement was signed on July 20, 1982. Situated 20 km south of Colombo, Moratuwa is an urbanized residential and industrial city between the Indian Ocean and the beautiful Lake Boregoda. About 180,000 people live in an area of 16 km2.


Bankstown, Australia

The agreement was signed on March 9, 1989. Situated 20 km southwest of Sydney, Bankstown is a residential/commercial city blessed with abundant greenery. It also has a rich cultural background. About 180,000 people live in an area of 78 km2.


National Sister Cities

Takashima City (Shiga Prefecture)

Situated in the north of and Shiga Prefecture surrounded by Lake Biwa and the Hira Mountain Range, the city provides excellent sites for swimming in summer and skiing in winter. The agreement was signed on September 1, 2005. About 53,000 people live in an area of approx. 693 km2.


Wakasa Town (Fukui Prefecture)

The city is blessed with the natural beauty of Wakasa-wan (Wakasa Bay) and Mikata-Goko (Five Lakes of Mikata), which, combined, are designated Wakasa Quasi-National Park and Mt.Sanjusangen. The agreement was signed on November 13, 2004. About 16,000 people live in an area of 178 km2.


Myoko City (Niigata Prefecture)

Situated at the foot of Myoko Mountain, part of Joshin'etsu National Park, and Takada Plain, the area is famous for its hot springs and ski resorts in the middle of a landscape of natural grandeur. The agreement was signed on August 28, 2002. About 36,000 people live in an area of 445 km2.


Nose Town (Osaka Prefecture)

The green-rich town has a landscape of rice paddies spreading throughout the valleys and stepped rice paddies cultivated on the hillside slopes. The agreement was signed on August 29, 2005. About 12,000 people live in an area of 98 km2.


Tosa Town (Kochi Prefecture)

Surrounded by 1000-meter high mountains on three sides, the green-rich town has views of a beautiful mountain landscape. The agreement was signed on December 7, 2007. About 5,000 people live in an area of 212 km2.


Kami Town (Hyogo Prefecture)

The town is rich in the natural landscapes of Hyounosen-ushiroyama-nagisan (Peaks of Hyouno, Ushiro, and Nagi) Ouasi-National Park, the mountains and seas of San'in Kaigan National Park, and the Yada River that flows between them. The agreement was signed on November 12, 2008. About 21,000 people live in an area of 369 km2.

吹田市役所〒564-8550大阪府吹田市泉町1丁目3番40号電話 06-6384-1231(代表) <市役所へのアクセス市庁舎案内図>



©Copyright 2011 Suita-city, all rights reserved.